Matches 151 to 200 of 8,777
|| Linked to
||"Connecticut Ancestry": On 23 Mar 1729/30 John Knapp of Stamford gave 2 acres of land in the North field on the wet side of the Stamford Mill river for love and affection to "my loveing son-in-law William King of Stamford". William King died before 1 Jan 1754 when Deborah was named administratrix of his estate. Deborah was still not remarried on 5 Mar 1759 when she filed William's inventory, but by 24 May 1763 had m. (2) Pierre Quintard, brother of her sister Hannah's husband Isaac Quintard. On that date, "Deborah Quintard, daughter of John Knap late of Stamford, deceased" was a grantor in a land transaction in Stamford. She did not have a marriage to David Bouton/Boughton, son of Capt. Samuel Boughton of Danbury, as claimed in several sources. That marriage was for another much younger Deborah Knapp, daughter of Francis Knapp of Danbury. ||KNAPP, Deborah (I34146)
||"Connecticut Ancestry": Peter Ferris and his brother Joseph and brother-in-law Jonathan Reynolds were among the 12 Greenwich residents who decided to place themselves under the jurisdiction of the New Haven Colony on 6 October 1656. The exact nature of this transaction is not clear, since the Colony noted that "They are to fall in with Stamford, and be accepted a part thereof." Apparently there was some kind of a split within the Greenwich community, and it may be presumed that there wre others still resident in that town who preferred to remain under the prevailing Dutch control. No boundary changes seem to have resulted from this event.|
It does appear, however, that Peter Ferris was a resident of Stamford for most of his career. He held several positions of responsibility in that town over the years, including being named deputy (representative) to Connecticut General Court (Assembly) in 1667. All other references to Peter Ferris in Greenwich appear to relate to his son, Peter Ferris Jr.
The names of the children in this family have been confusing for researchers, at least partly because of incompleteness in the records. One of the boundaries in determining Peter's children has been his father Jeffrey's mention in his will, made on 6 January 1664, of "my sonn Peter Fferris his three children." On the surface, this seems to include Joseph, Peter Jr., and either Mary or the second Elizabeth, who was only 4 years old when Jeffrey made his will. The first Elizabeth is known to have died in infancy.
Another boundary on the identification of Peter's children is his making of two deeds of gift to his loving grandson Jeremiah Jagger on 24 May 1698 and 27 September 1706 (the latter was on the day before Peter died.) this Jeremiah Jagger was not yet 21 years old in 1698, and was therefore the third generation Jeremiah Jagger, born to Jeremiah Jagger and a daughter of Peter Ferris. Peter Ferris and Abraham Ambler administered the estate of Jeremiah Jagger in 1690, and Elisha Holly, Daniel Scofield and Peter Ferris took the inventory. The estate's largest debt (L30) was to Peter Ferris, and Jagger's heirs were named as (his children) Sarah age 13, Elizabeth age 11, Mary age 7 and Jeremiah age 5. Therefore the grandson Jeremiah had been born in about 1684, and his oldest sister Sarah had been born in about 1676. Their mother must have been born before say 1656 or so, assuming she was at 20 when her first child was born. This means (on the basis of age) she could not have been either Mary, born in 1662 or the second Elizabeth, born in 1664. Paul Prindle could only resolve this situation by postulating an earlier, first child for Peter Ferris, born perhaps as early as 1655, and perhaps called Sarah, since she gave her eldest child that name. This daughter would have been living at least as late as 1684 (when Jeremiah Jagger was born) and was therefore very much alive when Jeffrey Ferris made his will (in 1664) numbering only 3 children for his son Peter. Prindle solved THIS problem by supposing that Elizabeth (b. 1664) was not the third child named in her grandfather's will after all, and that the discrepancy could be explained either by Jeffrey's being unaware of a new grandchild born just 4 days before he made his will, or more likely, that it was due to a specific effect of old style dating, and that Elizabeth had not yet been born. This compilation accepts that arrangement, since this specific case was in the direct line of Prindle's client's ancestry, and he would have been sure to place the highest importance on getting it right. Capt. Jim Ferris was apparently unaware of this line of reasoning, and did not consider a possible additional daughter for Peter Ferris, born say bout 1655. His solution was to place the second Elizabeth as the wife of Jeremiah jagger and make her the mother of the four jagger grandchildren, and in the process he actually telescoped the first two Jeremiah Jaggers into one person. In addition to its misunderstanding of the Jagger family, this proposal is not viable since it requires the improbable situation that Elizabeth (b. 1664/65) was only about 12 years old when the oldest Jagger grandchild was born.
We now turn to the Hannah Ferris who married Capt. John Knapp at Stamford on 10 June 1692. She must have been born before about 1674, assuming she was at least 18 years old when married. She was the subject of queries to the "Hartford Times" and the "Boston Transcript", but apparently no one has yet conclusively proven her identity. In the only positive answer to these newspaper inquiries, H.S.C. gave the following statement," Hannah Ferris, daughter of Peter and Elizabeth (Reynolds) Ferris, married John Knapp June 10, 1692. She died afterwards, leaving two children, Samuel and John." Actually she left at least 7 children, Samuel, John, Hannah, Peter, charles, Deborah, and Moses. But the real problem here is that S.P Mead's History does not give this identity for Hannah at all, and as a matter of fact does not even list a Hannah Ferris as a daughter of Peter and Elizabeth.
Other writers have also included Hannah as a daughter of Peter Ferris, but without any real support. Nevertheless, it does seem reasonable to place Hannah here in this family, probably born sometime after Jeffrey Ferris died in 1666/67. In another "Boston Transcript" query, M.S.R.S. put the issue quite clearly as follows," She (Hannah) must have been of the third generation of Jeffrey Ferris' family. Was she the daughter of Peter or of Joseph Ferris? Mead's "Greenwich" gives Joseph a daughter Hannah, but as wife of Jonathan Austin. John Ferris and his family lived too far fro Stamford, and James Ferris was married too late. This seems to leave Peter Ferris as the only possible father for (the) above Hannah." Capt. Jim Ferris also placed Hannah in this family, but again without any supporting documentation.
There is some important additional evidence that tends to confirm that Hannah Ferris, wife of John Knapp, belongs in this family. First, it is probably significant that they named a child Peter, since the name Peter does not appear earlier in the Knapp line and this may therefore have been in honor of her father. Secondly, on 2 April 1712, the brothers Joseph and Peter Ferris, "sons of Peter Ferris late of Stamford deceased" ( and therefore Hannah's brothers if she were indeed a part of this family) sold a three-acre home lot in Stamford to John Knapp. it is significant that this land was described as "...whereon Standeth ye new Dwelling house and barn of sd John Knap." the fact that John Knapp had built his new house and barn on this land while it was still owned by this branch of the Ferris family is strong circumstantial evidence that he had indeed married a daughter of Peter Ferris Sr.
A letter in the Edich Vicks Papers at the Stamford Historical Society claims that the late Virginia Olson (co-author of "Stamford's Soldiers" and former genealogist of the Stamford Genealogical Society) had told the writer that "Peter and Elizabeth were the parents of Hannah. She (Mrs Olson) states, 'Hannah proved by deeds as the daughter of Peter but birth not recorded; married John Knapp 10 June 1692. She died 27 Sep 1724.' Mrs. Olson also quotes the "Hartford Times 12/28/1940 as giving reference to the relationship."
Although an excellent circumstantial case may be made for Hannah's placement in this family, it is not yet felt to be conclusive, and she must be paced here in this present compilation want the qualifier, "probably".
|FERRIS, Peter (I21949)
||"Connecticut Ancestry": Peter married first at Stamford on 30 June 1726, Elizabeth Slason, daughter of John and Mary (Holmes) Slason, born at Stamford on 18 April 1703. She died on 12 Mary 1733 at Stamford, about a week after her fourth child, Mary, was born. On 24 April 1746, after the death of "my honored father John Slason late of Stamford deceased," John Slason (Jr.) referred to "my sister Elizabeth Knap deceased who was the former wife of Peter Knap" and her heirs Elizabeth, Hannah, Sarah and Mary Knapp. Her identity is further confirmed in a deed made by her daughter Sarah (Knapp) Smith with husband Austin Smith on 28 Mar 1753, n which they conveyed their right in Southern Common or Sequest Land in Stamford that "came down to us from the sd Sarah's grand father and grand mother John and Mary Slason late of sd tamford deceased & ye right was originally part of Old Mr. John Slason & George Slason & Old Mr. Stephen Holmes right a part of each of their lists in the year 1687."|
He married second at Stamford on 21 March 1734, Mary Slason, daughter of Jonathan and Mary Waterbury Slason, born at Stamford on 20 June 1704. the Stamford record of this marriage is deficient in the original, spelling her surname "Sl_on". The recorder, probably town clerk Lt. Samuel Weed, left out the letter 's' in the middle of her name, and this recording peculiarity has spawned a series of misinterpretations of her identity. First, the Rev. Elijah Baldwin Huntington copied her name as "Mary Sloon," and left it at that, with no interpretation or suggestions as to her identity. The transcription used for the Barbour Collection gave her name as Mary "sloan," and cross-referenced the spelling "Sloon" given by Huntington. but except for this one instance no persons at all by the name of Slaon, Sloan, or Sloon are found in any other early Stamford records.
The author of the "Slason Genealogy" correctly detected that the bride was named Mary Sla(s)on, but picked the wrong Mary. The authors of "Stamford's Soldiers" called her Mary Slason, but without further information.
Fortunately a Stamford land record clarified the identity of Peter Knapp's second wife. On 9 January 1740/41 Peter Knapp and Mary his wife, Samuel Bishop and rebecca his wife, and David Scofied and Sarah his wife, all of Stamford, sold to "our loving brother David Slason of said Stamford" rights in the sequestered lands of Stamford that "formerly belonged unto our honored father Jonathan Slason late of Stamford deceased." Also on this same date, Peter Knapp and Mary his wife sold their rights in the estate of "our 'Brother' Jonathan Slason late of said Stamford" to Samuel Bishop.
the "Slason Geneaology" stated ERRONEOUSLY that this Mary Slason (the daughter of Jonathan Slason and Mary Waterbury) had "married Peter King," without giving a date or any other citation, and gives a date for her death as "15 Mar 1724/25 at Stamford". There is no such Peter King marriage or Mary King death, in the Stamford records. This error probably stemmed from S.P. Mead's earlier transcription of the distribution of the estate of Jonathan Slason (Junior) in 1750 to "his brothers and sisters viz: George, Silas, Nathan, Abigail Webb, alias Goolsbery, Mary, wife of Peter King (sic), Sarah Wife of David Scofield, and Rebecca wife of Samuel Bishop." This error has also been perpetuated in the Slason section of the Bedford genealogies, probably because of the same transcription problem.
Mary, wife of Peter Knapp, was admitted to full communion at the Stamford Congregational Church on 31 December 1746.
Peter Knapp apparently built his first home on his father's property, since on 5 February 1730/31, Capt. John Knapp gave his loving son Peter Knapp for good will and affection "ye new Dweling house and home Lot of about Eight acres be ye same more of Less where he my ad son now Lives." The father, now calling himself "John Knap Senr," also gave his loving son Peter a tract of land (size not mentioned) between the Mill River and the Mianus River on 31 January 1739/40.
At a town Meeting of 16 December 1736, the Town of Stamford voted that "ye town gives liberty to john Knap Junr, Peter Knap, and John Penoyre theirs heirs etc. all of Stamford for to build a grit mill, on ye mill river, so called, at ye upper end of ye Still water, neare Peter Knaps home lott, provided they build sd mill in tow years after this time, and also provided they damnify no one perticuler persons land by daming sd river and also that ye said John Knap etc. be hereby obliged when sd mill be build as aforesd to grind first for ye people of this town and befoer any person of any other town or place and for their service in grinding of any graine they shall take ye sixteenth part and no more. voted in ye afirmitive."
In a record not yet explained, Thankful Bullard of Stamford chose "her uncle Peter Knapp" to be her guardian on 6 december 1748.
Peter Knapp and his wife Mary sold 4 acres in the Roxbury district of Stamford to their son in law, Samuel Buxton Junior on 18 January 1757. the deed was witnessed by Abraham Davenport and the couple's daughter, still single, "Daborah Knap."
On 8 September 1764, Peter Knapp and mary his wife sold their 5 acre farm in the Roxbury district, with buildings and fruit trees thereon, to "our son Peter Knapp Junior of Stamford," for L40 New York money, reserving the use and improvement of the property for themselves during their lifetimes. This was the last mention of Peter Knapp in the land records, and he may have died not long afterwards. With his real estate disposed, and no other sons or unmarried daughters to provide for by this time, there were no probate proceedings recorded for him in Stamford.
|KNAPP, Peter (I34178)
||"Connecticut Ancestry": Prindle gives an excellent and complete account of Daniel Scofield's land transactions in Stamford, as well as his considerable public service. Over the years from the time he reached his majority about 1667-1668 until the time of his death in 1714 he served the town in countless ways, as selectman, on school and church committees, and in a variety of lesser elected and appointed positions He was regularly called upon to take inventories and assist in administration of estates. His children married into the families of many of Stamford's other leading citizens. His selection for service to the town indicated an obvious measure of respect that culminated in the designation as "Mr." in some records of his later years.|
Daniel Scofield died intestate at Stamford on 10 October 1714, and his son Samuel Scofield and son-in-law Lt. Samuel Weed were designated to administer the estate. His inventory was taken on 22 November 1714 and presented in Court by Samuel Scofield and Samuel Weed, countersigned by Samuel Hait/Hoyt (the smith), Samuel Weed, Daniel Weed, Daniel Scofield (clearly the son Daniel), Samuel Bates and "Serh Scofeld" (the latter not positively identified name). The inventory listed the homestead of Daniel Scofield and several other parcels of land throughout Stamford, but interestingly also included "the homestead of Joseph Scofield and "the homelot of Samuel Scofield," indicating that these two sons were still living on their father's lands......
|SCOFIELD, Daniel (I48599)
||"Connecticut Ancestry": Stephen Holmes was born about 1633 and died at Stamford on 15 May 1710. His widow Martha ?, whose maiden name is still unknown, died at Stamford on 13 March 1727/28.|
Stephen Holmes and his brother John were on the list of 21 Stamford residents nominated and approved as freemen of the State of Connecticut at the General Assembly of 14 October 1669 at Hartford.
As the single recipient of his father's farmland in Stamford, Stephen Holmes acquired additional property in newly-divided sections of Stamford over the years through those original property rights. Paul Prindle found that Stephen received specific properties from the town directly in 1667, 1674, 1685 and 1687, and commonage from the town in 6 other layouts; was the grantee of other properties in 4 other deeds from individuals; and was the grantor in 25 deeds and one exchange.
As often happened in colonial times and even today, stephen Holmes disposed of most of his property by deed to his children and their spouses over a period from 1702-1704. Some of these properties were in later settlements away from Stamford center - for example, his gift to his son Samuel in 1706 was of 10 1/2 acres east of the Noroton River, therefore in what is now the town of Darien.
He provided for a homestead for his eldest son Samuel Holmes during his lifetime, but for some reason never transferred the title to Samuel. His widow Martha Holmes who was also the executor of his estate, rectified this on 10 December 1711, when she gave "all that lot of land whereon ye said Samuel Holmes now dwelleth" to Samuel on behalf of herself and her husband's estate.
The sons-in-law Elisha Holly, John Slason and John Hait also received property from Stephen Holmes, either during his lifetime or from his estate. Because of our particular interest in John Slason and the daughter Mary Holmes, we may note that on 8 October 1703, Stephen Holmes gave his daughter "Mary the wife of John Slason one acre of meadow in part of her portion." the deed was witnessed by Steven Holmes Jr. and Sarah Holmes, her H mark, and acknowledged as a deed of gift by David Waterbury, J.P.
|HOLMES, Stephen (I29510)
||"Connecticut Ancestry": the authoritative account of his life that appears in the book, "Ancestry of Elizabeth Barrett Gillespie", by Paul W. Prindle, F.A.S.G., may be relied upon with confidence. As reported by Prindle and others, Jonas Weed was a passenger in the Winthrop Fleet that sailed to the Massachusetts By in 1630, although the exact name of the ship he sailed on within that fleet cannot be determined. His residences in the Massachusetts Bay Colony and Wethersfield, Connecticut prior o Stamford are already well documented by others including Paul W. Prindle and Robert C. Anderson and need not be duplicated here.|
No birth records appear to have survived for any of his 10 children, but they are all evident from other surviving records, and they were almost certainly all born in Connecticut. the list given by Prindle has recently been updated by Anderson (the Great Migration Begins) and is used here in preference to the Prindle list. All except the first three were probably born at Stamford.
|WEED, Jonas (I59964)
||"Connecticut Ancestry": The Slason Genealogy gives his parents names as Richard Slawson and Anne Angell, who were married at St. Saviour's Church in Southwark, Surrey on 13 March 1610. this Church is directly across the Thames River from London, and it is possible that Richard Slawson had come to the greater London area from some other place. Birth records for George Slason and his brother Thomas do not seem to have been found.|
Both the Slason Genealogy and the Bedford genealogies report that he "probably" immigrated to the New World on the ship "jonas" in 1636, but without further explanation.
George Slason was in lynn, Essex County, massachusetts by 1637 and soon afterward in Sandwich, Brnstavle County (Cape Cod), by 1638. the name of George Slason (but not Thomas) appeared on an undated list of men who had taken the Oath of fidelity at Sandwich. George Slason (but not Thomas) was awarded 2 acred in a division of meadow land in Sandwich dated 16 April 1640.
The Slason "brothers" apparently removed from Sandwich to Stamford during the first year of settlement of that town. Thomas Slason was granted a houe lot and another 3 acres, and presumably George was also, but no record of such a grant to George seems to have been preserved. There is no further record of this Thomas Slason in Stamford and although it has been claimed that he quickly returned to the Plymouth Colony, it also seems possible that the single record for Thomas in Stamford instead belonged to George all along and that Thomas therefore never exited - at least not as a Stamford resident.
In a difficult chapter from Stamford's early years, George Slason and (Thomas Stevenson) had the unfortunate experience of being accused by the new Haven Court on 1 April 1644 with being responsible for the escape of the Dutchman who had murdered Capt. Daniel Patrick, and who was under arrest and under their guard at Stamford. Apparently because of the mitigating circumstances offered by Slason and Stevenson in their own defense, the case was not pursued and no sentences imposed.
Stamford Historian the Rev. Mr. Huntington called George Slason an "exemplary member of the church, a peace maker, and one whom all delighted to honor." Huntington also related that George Slason was one of two Stamford leaders (along with Francis Bell) chosen to call the Rev. John Bishop to be pastor at Stamford, replacing the Rev. Richard Denton who had abruptly left Stamford without pastoral leadership in about 1644. The source for this account is not clear but it was reported as follows at a celebration of the Church in 1841:
"Rev. John Bishop succeeded Mr. (Richard) Denton (as pastor of the stamford Congregational Church). To show the value which the church placed in that age, upon the regular ministrations of the Gospel, I will state the method of making out the call to Mr. Bishop. Hearing he was in the neighborhood of Boston, two brethren, George Slason and Francis Bell, were deputed to go to Boston, and if he was to be found to make known to him the wishes of the Church. Although the country was full of hostile Indians, they went on foot carrying their provisions, and succeeded at length in finding Mr. Bishop "to the eastward of Boston." He accepted the call and returned with them on foot bringing his Bible under his arm, through the wilderness, to Stamford. (This Bible is still in the possession (in 1841) of Mr. Noah Bishop, one of his descendants.) Mr. Bishop labored here in the inistry nearly 50 years, and died in 1693."
The lands of George Slason were recorded in the Spring of 1650/51, when most of Stamford's land holdings were summarized in the Town Records. Unfortunately, the page has been torn so a complete description of some of his outlying land has been lost. His homelot, however, is described as "One house and home lot with an acre and half adjoining to it, the home lot, and it contains 3 acres, more or less, bounded by Obadiah Seeley to the South, Thomas Morris (to the) NOrth, abutting the highway (on the) West & the Meadow (on the) East."
George Slason served at least twice as Deputy (Representative) from Stamford to the New haven Colony Court at New Haven, in 1657 and 1663. After Stamford and the other New Haven Colony towns became a part of the Connecticut Colony, George Slason and his sons John and Eleazer were three of 21 Stamford men who were approved as freemen by the Connecticut Assembly at their meeting in Hartford of 14 October 1669.
He married (2) at Fairfield on 16 December 1680, Mary (Williams) Jennings widow of Joshua Jennings who had died at Fairfield in 1675. they had made an extensive pre-nuptial contract on 18 November 1680 including recognition that she would "bring two or three of her younger children with her." Mary (Williams) Jennings) Slason returned to Fairfield after the death of George Slason. She made her will there on 27 march 1697, naming her (own) children Matthew, isaac, Samuel, Joshua and Joseph Jennings and Mary Curtis, her grandson John Smith, and "daughter in law hannah Jennings." Her inventory was taken during 1697 and filed on 10 January 1697/98.
Prior to the time of his second marriage, George Slason transferred title to a substantial portion of his property in Stamford to his three children. On 10 September 1680, he confirmed and clearly identified lands that he had "formerly given" to his son in law John Gold to be his forever "as part or portion to or with my daughter Hanna." The gift included his house and 3 1/2 acre homelot on south Street, and another 3 acres of upland in the North Field. Apparently John Gold had previously made a partial payment to his father in law since he (Gold) signed a note attached to this deed of gift that courteously allowed his benefactor to keep the previous partial payment, "The aforsaid John Gold doth (in consideration of ye premises) aquit & discharg his farther-in-aw for named of what sum so ever ye said Gold paid in pte of purchase of he said house & lands, viz: three pounds or there abouts."
Then, about 2 month later on the 3rd day, 10th month (December) 1680, George Slason made substantial gifts of property to both of his sons, John and Eleazer. Both deeds were witnessed by Jonathan Bell and Samuel Weed, and for some reason were not recorded until 16th day 2nd month (April) 1686.
George Slason made his will at Stamford on 19 December 1694, mentioning his wife but not by name, and his sons John and Eleazer and his daughter the wife of John Gold. His signature is smudged on the document, but it is clear that he could write his own name at the time. He added a codicil about 3 weeks later (9 January 1694/5), signed at this time only with his G S mark. Both instruments were witnessed by Abraham Ambler and Samuel Holly.
His inventory was taken by Jonathan Bell and Jonas Weed and filed on 5 November 1695, consisting of over 25 acres of land and rights still remaining in his name, livestock, tools, household furnishings, and 3 old bibles.
|SLAWSON, George (I51397)
||"Connecticut Ancestry": They had moved to East Town, later the town of Westchester in Westchester County, New York before 11 Feb 1662 when the inhabitants of that town proposed his name to the Dutch Governor Peter Stuyvesant as one of 6 to be considered for the position of magistrate and he was apparently so selected. A year later (24 May 1663) Governor Stuyvesant again selected Robert Huestis as one of the three magistrates for that upcoming year (along with John Barker and Nicholas Bayley.) Both the Dutch and English jurisdictions claimed East Town as theirs and later that same year (8 Oct 1663) the Connecticut Colony made Robert "Huested" and 6 other residents of the town freemen of Connecticut. Robert and Elizabeth Huestis/Husted lived out their lived in Westchester, where he held several positions of leadership in that town. ||HUSTED, Robert (I31527)
||"Connecticut Ancestry": This family left some very interesting land records in Stamford, describing family relationships in considerable detail. In one of those deeds, made by John Slason on 25 December 1742, the grantor gave property to "my dearly beloved and loving sons in law and their wives, viz: Samuel Knap and Martha his wife, & Jonathan Brown and Mary his wife, & unto my dearly beloved and loving grand children viz: the children of my beloved daughter Elizabeth Knap deceased who was the former wife of Peter Knap." The deed was for rights in Sequest lands, and mentions that some of those rights had previously belonged to "my brother Stephen Holmes that was father Holmes right," and "my grand father George Slason's right." For good measure, the grantees are named again three or four more times in the same document!|
One of those grandchildren specified but not named by John Slason (Sarah(Knapp) Smith, daughter of Elizabeth Slason and Peter Knapp), made a deed with her husband Austin Smith on 28 March 1753 in which they conveyed their right in Southern Common or Sequest Land in Stamford that "came down to us from the sd Sarah's grand father and grand mother John and Mary Slason late of sd Stamford deceased & ye right was originally part of Old Mr. John Slason & George Slason & Old Mr. Stephen Holmes right a part of each of their lists in the year 1687."
|SLASON, John (I50189)
||"Connecticut Ancestry": Thomas Brush was first noted in Southold, Long Island, New York in a record of 8 October 1655 when he was mentioned in an affidavit, but is thought to have been there earlier, perhaps about 1650 or 1651. His English origin has not yet been determined. He was born say about 1630, most likely in England, and died at Huntington, Suffolk County, Long Island, New York probably shortly afteer 26 april 1670 when a document shows his signature, and certainly before June 1677 when his estate was settled. The person named Thomas Brush who appears as a party to Huntington records after 1670 was most likely his son by that name, no longer needing to use the suffix "jr." to differentiate him from his father.|
Some researchers have claimed that he was a son of one John Brush of Southold, but I have not been able to find any primary source documentation that would support this claim, and it is considered very speculative.
Probably about 1650/51 and possibly in Southold, he is presumed to have married REBECCA CONKLIN, daughter of John Conklin and Elizabeth Alseabrook. The Conlkin (or Concklyne) family had come to Long Island from Salem, Massachusetts, but no records of Thomas Brush have been found in that earlier place. Richard Brush, possibly the brother of Thomas Brush and closely associated with his family on Long Island, is known to have been in Cambridge, Massachusetts in 1658, and later the two had adjoining lands in Huntington. It would not be unexpected to find the origins of Thomas Brush, Richard Brush, and John Conklin in the same community(ies) in England.
town Meeting of 15 October 1660 voted that "goodman (Thomas) Brush shall keepe the ordinary so long as hee do...(etc)." He therefore appears to have been Huntington's first innkeeper.
Thomas Brush retuned briefly to Southold, where he purchases some land in 1661, and was made a freeman of the Connecticut Colony on 9 October 1662. On 11 April 1663, Thomas Brush and John Tucker, Gent., both of Southold, sold the property at Southold where Brush had been living to Thomas Mapes. rebecca, wife of Thomas Brush, gave her approval to the sale, and this record is apparently the only mention of the given name of his wife. He had certainly returned to Huntington by 1 June 1663, when the town named him to a select committee of four men to survey and record the boundaries and owners of all of the existing land holdings in Huntington, and to distribute additional lands within the town boundaries at their discretion - a very important responsibility.
The estate of Thomas Brush was administered by his son thomas and on 11 August (6th month) 1677 the daughter rebecca Brush made receipt "of my brother Thomas administrator one oure fathers estate my full proportion of yt estate to Content(,) it being to ye value of fifty pounds & thirteen shillins & fower pence." her brother John Brush received an identical amount and made a similar receipt on the same date. rebecca signed with her X mark and John made his own signature. Jonas Wood and Joseph Whitman witnessed both receipts.
There does not seem to be any further mention of a widow Rebecca (Conklin) Brush, and she may have died around the same time as her husband. One reference gives a date for her death of 9 April 1670, but without reference to any original source. There is also no record of any second marriage for her, even though there were several minor children. At any rate, her father John Conklin was appointed overseer of those minor children, and they were taken back into their grandfather's home.
|BRUSH, Thomas (I68836)
||"Connecticut Ancestry": Thomas Newman died at Stamford between 21 May and 2 October 1714, the dates of his will and its probate. No basis has been found for estimating the date of his birth, since none of the dates of his marriage or the births of any of his children seem to have been recorded. Some references give the year of his birth as 1643, but without giving any reasons.|
His wife's name was Mary ? as given in his will and the distribution of his estate. We have no further information on her, including whether or not she was the other of all of his children.
His will was dated at Stamford on 21 May 1714, and mentioned his wife Mary, and his children John, Nathaniel, Jonathan, Thomas and son in law Daniel Briggs. The executrix was to be his wife Mary Newman, and the witnesses were John Holly, James June and Ebenezer Smith. The original will has been preserved, and it can be seen that he signed with a signature, although with a very unsteady hand. His inventory was taken on 2 September and filed 1 November 1714.
His children were parties to an agreement made on 1 Dec 1729 along with Robert Harris, to build a saw mill "on the Mianus river about eight rods south of Nathaniel Newman's dwelling house." The agreement was witnessed by John Bell, and signed by Robert Harris, John Newman, Daniel Briggs, Jonathan Newman, Thomas Newman, and Nathaniel Newman (his X mark).
|NEWMAN, Thomas (I41242)
||"Connecticut Ancestry": Thomas Newman made his will at East Towne in New Netherland (later the town of Westchester in Westchester County, New York) on 2 June 1659, and died sometime in March, 1660, possibly at Stamford. He was born presumably in England, about 1584. The Rev. Mr. Huntington called him "probably son of William," but this may simply have been a deduction based on the name of Thomas' oldest son.|
The name of his wife and mother of his children has been given as MARY MORRTON, apparently based on a marriage record for Thomas Newman and Mary Moorton at St. Saviours Church, Southwark, Surrey, England dated 28 September 1607. No confirmation has been found, however, that this record refers to the same Thomas Newman of Stamford and east towne. It has also been claimed that he married one Mary Carles, daughter of joseph Carles, and this is probably related to the fact that his will mentioned a GRANDDAUGHTER named Mary Carles, who married John Archer. The granddaughter could have been his own, or his wife's or both of theirs together, and therefore, Catherine Carles is not necessarily a descendant. His will uses the specific phrase "my now surviving wife Mary," but this does not automatically mean that he was married more than once, or even that he had two different wives named Mary. the will further stipulates that his son William Newman of Stamford was to provide for his widow "in all respects whatsoever as a woman of her age & degree ought to be, during her surviving." This mention of "degree" could indicate a particular social status, which could lead in turn to a better indication of the widow's identity.....
Another Thomas Newman is said to have come to America in 1634 on the ship "Mary and John", along with his father William, wife Mary, and son John. This Thomas Newman has sometimes been confused with the Stamford man, but they were entirely different persons. Thomas Newman of Ipswich, the "Mary and John" passenger, was leaving records there in Ipswich, Massachusetts in about 1673, leaving a widow Alice, who died 19 November 1679. Savage said that he left sons Thomas, John and Benjamin, and these persons are evident in the Ipswich records. Thomas Newman of Stamford mentioned no such people in his will.
Donald L. Jacobus thought it possible that William Newman of Stamford (and therefore Thomas of Stamford) may have been related to one Richard Newman who was in New Haven in 1641, died after 1680, and had children Samuel, John, Sarah and Mercy. Except for this possible clue, there seems to be no other indication of Thomas Newman's origin, presumably in England.
The lands of Thomas Newman were records at Stamford on 1 March 1649/50 as part of a general recording project that took place at that tie. His holdings then were the following:
1. One house and home lot containing an acre and a half, bounded by the highway north, Robert Rugg south, butting to the highway east and Jeffrey Ferris west;
2. In the North Field 6 acres of upland, bounded by Daniel Scofield and Henry Ackerly on the south, and Henry Smith and william Newman to the north, butting to the highway west and the fence east;
3. In the East Field a little island encompassed with (by?) the meadow of David Mitchell on the east and north, and the meadow of Obadiah Seeley to the south and west;
4. In the same field, 5 more acres of meadow, bounded by Robert BAtes to the south, Richard Ambler to the north, butting to the highway west and the Sea east;
5. In the Rocky Neck, 2 acres of meadow, bounded by Thomas Morehouse to the south & William Mead on the north, butting to the highway west, and the upland of William Newman to the east;
6. In the North Field, 3 acres of upland, bounded by thomas Morehouse to the south, William Newman north, butting to the highway east and the River west.
Thomas Newman was one of the Stamford residents who were uncomfortable with the government of their Colony located at New Haven, and apparently had signed a letter that was "very offensive" to the Court at New Haven in 1653. William Newman was summoned to the Court representing his father "in respect of his age", and expressed to the Court that both he and his father were sorry for the disrespectful things they had done, and that it would not happen again. William Newman was not fined, but was required to post a L20 bond to help insure that both he and his father would be more cooperative with the New Haven jurisdiction in the future.
Possibly because of this political difficulty with the New Haven jurisdiction, Thomas Newman moved to Oost-dorp or East Towne New Netherland (later the town of Westchester), some time before 16 March 1656 (probably 1655/56) when his name was listed among the 14 English residents of that place that "voluntarily submitted themselves to the government of the New Netherlands." At the end of December 1656 an official delegation fro Director General Peter Stuyvesant's office visited East Town. The delegation dines at Mr. Newman's home on Sunday 31 December after which the delegation attended church services with the inhabitants of the village. That portion of their journal reads as follows:
"Went to examine the Village somewhat. It is a very stoney place, thickly covered with trees. At noon were invited to dine at Mr. Newman's. After dinner Conrelius Van Ruyven went to the house where they assemble on Sundays, to observe their mode of worship, as they have not as yet any clergyman. There I (Briah Nuton) found a gathering of about 15 men and 10 to 12 women. Mr. Baly (BAiley) made a prayer, which being concluded, one Robert Basset read a sermon from a printed book composed and published by an English minister in England. After the reading Mr. Baly made another prayer and they sung a Psalm and separated. In the evening we were invited to supper to Robert Basset's, and having taken our leave we went to sleep at John Lord's house; neither he nor any of the members of his family came home that night, which much surprised us."
The journal goes on to report that John Lord and his family returned in the morning and that they had stayed away overnight in order that the official visitors not be overcrowded in what must have been a very modest home in a wilderness location. It also mentioned that on the following day, 1 January 1657:
"We requested him (meaning John Lord) to have the drum beaten forthwith to get the people together; to which he said, he had given orders to beat the drum, and the majority of the inhabitants being assembled we communicated to them the object of our mission, and that the Hr Director General of N. Netherland had from the six persons named by them elected three as Magistrates for Oostdorp, vix. Mr. Newman, Mr. Lord, & John Smith, and exhibited and read to them the commission granted to the Magistrates."
His will, made on 2 June 1659 at East Town, is the source of much of the information we presently have on Thomas Newman, and many of its provisions have already been noted. He called himself, "in good health of body and of sound minde & understanding, yet not knowing how soone my chang may be..." Because we know he was in good health and sound mind it is therefore significant that he signed the will with his mark, a capital letter N, written backwards. It named his wife Mary and son William of Stamford and left legacies to his granddaughter "Katherine Carles alias Archer, the wife of John Archer" (20 shillings), and to "every of his (William's) surviving children at my decease, the sume of five pounds per piece." His son William was to be executor, and to receive the entire estate, except for the above provisions for others and his responsibility to care for the widow. The will was witnessed by Richard Mills and Samuel Mills, transcribed and attested under oath by them at Stamford before the town clerk Richard Law on 22 day 12th month, 1660, or 22 February, 1659/60.
|NEWMAN, Thomas (I69159)
||"Connecticut Ancestry": Thomas Stevens was in Stamford at least by 1649 (probably as early as 1641), and died there on 19th day, 6th month (August) 1658, as a relatively young family man. He is often said to have been a close relative, either a brother or son, of a John Stevens, also of Stamford. This seems to be due to the single mention of a John Stevens in the Stamford Town Records, that being a surviving fragment of a legal proceeding in which Abram Ambler Sr. gave bond in connection with an attachment "taken out agst John Stevens, Ye (...words missing...) Fairfield this 21st April 1686." The Rev. Mr. Huntington placed this John Stevens on his list of first settlers of Stamford, since he found another record in which (?) Stevens had been granted land on 7 December 1641. The official transcription of the Town Records does not give the final letter in the first name of this Stevens as "n" as did Mr. Huntington, and in fact does not give any letters at all for that first name. Since there are not other records at all for a John Stevens in Stamford, I believe we may conclude that no such person ever existed in that town (at least before 1686, and then instead more likely in Fairfield, as suggested by the above record fragment.|
It therefore seems probable that our subject THOMAS Stevens was the person granted a house lot in 1641, and that he should be placed on the lists of original Stamford settlers instead of John. Savage apparently came to the same conclusion, since his comprehensive GENEALOGICAL DICTIONARY places Thomas Stevens in Stamford in 1641.
Furthermore, the New Haven colony Records document an episode at Stamford in November 1643 in which a Thomas "Stevenson," along with George Slason, was assigned to guard a Dutch prisoner overnight, and who was later charged, at a New Haven Magistrates Court on 1 April 1644, with the responsibility for the prisoner's escape. There are no other records of anyone named Stevenson in Stamford at this time and it is very likely that this situation involved our subject Thomas Stevens instead.
Certainly Thomas Stevens had accumulated several pieces of property in Stamford before the general real estate inventory that was made in 1649-1652 for the Town Records. Although there is no survey of his own lands at that time in the surviving records, he appeared as an adjoining property owner in the descriptions of the lands of at least 9 different neighbors, with the earliest record being that of Thomas Morehouse on the 31st day, 11th month(February) 1649/50. This accumulation of property confirms that Thomas Stevens must have been in Stamford for a considerable time before 1650, reinforcing the theory that it was he who arrived in 1641, and not some other Stevens individual (and also that he was probably the Thomas "Stevenson" of the Dutch prisoner incident).
Several very incomplete and imperfect genealogies have been published covering one or more individual lines from Thomas Stevens, and no comprehensive family genealogy is available at this time. Perhaps the most complete (and very careful) study of the family to date has been published in chart form by Mrs. Halstead. Her chart entitled "Stevens Family" appeared in the New Canaan Historical Society's first ANNUAL in 1946.
Thomas Stevens married at an unknown time and place, Ann (?), who survived him and married (2) sometime after 1658, Frances Holmes, another early Stamford settler. Several writers have reported this relationship, but without documentation. The evidence is contained, however, in the following Stamford Land records. On 20 December 1686, the brothers Obadiah, Benjamin and Joseph Stevens agreed that their mother, "the widow Homs," would live with her son benjamin Stevens, with some support being provided by the other two brothers in the form of certain specified gifts of animals. And, on 1 April 1689, Ann Homs, widow, signing with her X mark, gave "a sartain ox" to her son Joseph Stevens. Francis Holmes had died at Stamford before 14 February 1675/76 when his inventory was taken.
None of the children of Thomas Stevens had their births recorded at Stamford. The names of Obadiah, Benjamin and Joseph come from the land records already mentioned. Ephraim Stevens was granted a house lot by the town on 25 February 1668/69, and died before 1676/77 when his estate was distributed to his brothers and sister, including Obadiah Stevens and Obadiah Seeley, who had married the sister, Esther Stevens. Obadiah Seeley and Obadiah Stevens agreed on 2 January 1676/77 that "our two brothers Benjamin and Joseph Stevens" should have their brother Ephraim's entire estate. Some writers have proposed a fifth son, a Thomas Stevens Jr., presumably named for his father, who "had land in Stamford in 1670", but this appears to be in error. The land record quoted for 1670 actually refers to "ye land yt was Thomas Stevens", and therefore does not prove a person by that name living in 1670. both Obadiah and Benjamin had sons named thomas Stevens, but their father apparently did not, at least not one that survived to manhood.
Thomas Stevens made his will at Stamford on 18 August 1658 (the day before his death), and it was probated at Fairfield on 30 November 1658. the will mentioned a wife and children, but no names were given. Thomas Stevens, signed with his "T.S." mark, which is more than a typical "X" and may indicate some education, and the use of initials perhaps due to extreme weakness at the time of signing. His wife was to receive the entire estate for her benefit in bringing up the children, but if she were to remarry, then the estate was to be divided into thirds, with the wife receiving one third and the children receiving 2/3 as a group, with the eldest son to receive a double child's portion "if he be deserving."
The estate was settled by the Fairfield Probate Court on 14 March 1670/71, with the court naming the eldest son Obadiah Stevens administrator at that time, about 12 years after his father's death. Obadiah must have been found deserving, since he was granted the full double portion......
|STEVENS, Thomas (I55219)
||"Connecticut Ancestry": Thomas Wickes (or Wilks) was born about 1615, perhaps in Shottery, a suburb of Stratford-on-Avon, Warwickshire, England, perhaps a son of Edward Wilks and Katherine Rogers. Katherine Rogers was a sister of Thomas Rogers and aunt of William Rogers, the immigrant to America who was closely associated with Thomas Wickes. Thomas Wickes died at Huntington, Suffolk County, Long Island, new York between 3 July 1670 and 19 march 1670/71. Care must be taken to distinguish him and his family from the "Thomas Weeks of Oyster Bay, Long Island". |
The name of his wife has not been determined, although Seversmith felt it was possible that she was related to Jonas Wood "Oram." Thomas Wicks and Jonas Wood "Oram" were certainly closely associated in Huntington records and shared many boundaries with each other.
There can be no question that his name was spelled both Wilks/Wilkes on the one hand and Wicks/Wickes on the other, even though we don't know the reasons. Joseph Bailey, the official records of the Town of Huntington (Whose own name was often spelled Bayley or even Baiely), recorded Thomas Wickes' land holdings and those of his son and namesake in Huntington in 1669. A perfect transcription of those records demonstrated that in both cases, the recorder, while not being completely consistent, nevertheless make the clear efort to give spellings of the name both with and without the (1) namely, "the Record of the lands and Medow off Thomas Wilks (Wickes) Senr in the year 1669", and "the Record of the Lands and Medow off Thomas Wilks (Wicks) Junior in the yeare 1669". The spelling "Wickes" is used herein to reflect the most common usage of his descendants.
Thomas Wickes appears to have made the same migrations as many other early stamford families. He was in Watertown, Massachusetts in 1635, and shortly afterward in Wethersfield, Connecticut with the first settlers there. he was part of the Wethersfield group that agreed to settle Stamford, Connecticut, and was in Stamford with the first group in 1641. Except for his original agreement to settle there, and some very early tax information, there are no further records of Thomas Wickes in Stamford.
Many Stamford settlers soon left with the Rev. Richard Denton to settle a community at Hempstead, Long Island in 1643-1644, and Thomas Wickes was part of this group, as well. A later (undated) summary of the rights of the original proprietors of Hempstead includes a section of considerable property "Laid Out to the Propriety Right and blank of Thomas Wilks Ye Following Parcells of land viz." Since all the other rights so listed were to original Hampstead proprietors, we may conclude that he was among them. A reconstructed overall listing of those proprietors that appeared in the same published volume of Hempstead Records included the name of "Thomas Hicks", which has more recently been shown to be an error for the correct name, "Thomas Wilks." In 1724, his son Thomas Wickes of Huntington made a quit claim deed to Joseph Smith of Hempstead for "all Such right Estate title Interest and Demand Whatsoever as he the said Thomas Wickes had or ought to have of in or to all those tracts of parcels of Land and Meadow Land With all those Rights of Land Within the Township of Hempstead that did formerly belong to Thomas Wickes of Hempstead formerly Deceased by any ways or Means Whatsoever."
Thomas Wickes made one more move during his lifetime, that being to another new settlement on Long Island at Huntington. On 30 July 1656, Jonas Wood, William Rogers and Thomas "Wilkes" purchased the major portion of what would become the Huntington Lands from Asharoken Montinnicok, Sachem, and the other native Americans "for and inconsideration of 2 coates, fore shertes, seven quarts of licker and aleven ounces of powther." If he were indeed the son of Katherine Rogers of Stratford0on-Avon, then he and William Rogers would have been first cousins. Thomas Wickes was a significant landholder in Huntington. The 1699 listing made by BAiley for the town records described 9 separate parcels scattered throughout the town, the largest being about 8 acres "Late in the tenor or ocupacon of Noah Rogers but since estrainged to Thomas Wilks." Noah Rogers was a brother of jonathan Rogers who married Thomas Wickes' eldest daughter Rebecca.
A Huntington town meeting of 7 June 1662 decided to require that any new settlers desiring to purchase lands in that town be first reviewed and approved by a committee consisting of Mr. Leverge (the minister), William Smith, Thomas Weekes, John Lum, Goodman (thomas) Jones, James Chichester and Jonas Wood.
Thomas Wickes made his will at Huntington on 3 July 1670, witnessed by Samuel Wood and Caleb Wood. His wife (not named) was to receive the use of 1/3 of his "accommodations" for her life, then to son John. he also mentioned his son thomas, Daughters Rebecca and martha and their children, and other children Elizabeth, Mary and Sarah. Isaac Platt and Thomas Powell were named executors. Unfortunately for us today, he did not give the married names of either of the two daughters who were married and had children by 1670. Letters of Administration were granted to "widow Wickes" on 19 March 1671.
|WICKES, Thomas (I68901)
||"Connecticut Ancestry": William Newman was born about 1610, and died at Stamford between 18 August and 18 November 1676, the dates of his will and its probate..A wife Elizabeth ? for whom we have no further information, was named in his will.|
He and his father were both settlers of Stamford during its first year, 1642. They probably did not come from Wethersfield with the majority of the other early settlers, but their place of origin is still unknown.
the lands of William Newman were recorded at Stamford on 1 March 1649/50 as follows:
1. One house and home lot containing an acre and a half, Bounded by William Graves to the east, John Elliot west, abutting the highway north and the meadows south;
2. Also another house and house lot, containing 3 acres, bounded by Nicholas Knapp and common land to the north, Henry Ackerly, William Potter and Common Land south, butting to the highway west and the common east;
3. In the North Field, 12 acres of upland, bounded by David Mitchell north, Nicholas Theale south, butting to the fence east, and the River west;
4. In the same field, 10 more acres of upland, bounded by Thomas Newman south, Nicholas Knapp north, butting to the highway east, and the River west;
5. In the same field, 3 more acres of upland, bounded by the rails (fence) east, Henry Smith and Francis Bell west, Thomas Neman south, Francis Bell north;
6. In Rocky Neck, 7 1/2 acres of upland, 4 1/2 acres of the said parcel is waste land, bounded by Francis Bell to the south, William Mead to the north, butting to William Mead, thomas Morehouse & Thomas Newman west, Nicholas Knapp east, a highway through the west end of it;
7. In the East Field, 4 acres of meadow, bounded by Thomas Hyatt south, Vincent Simkins north, butting Henry Ackerly west, the highway east, with 12 rods fence as it was layed out by ?;
8. In the same field, 6 acres meadow down in the South field fence belonging (?), bounded by Vincent Simkins on the south and north, butting to the highway east, Jeffery Ferris and John Finch west;
9. In the same field, 2 more acres of meadow, bounded by Daniel Scofield south, Henry Ackerly north, butting to the highway west, and Jonas Weed east.
Difficulties with the Court at New Haven in 1654 (along with his father) have already been described. Just prior to his father's death, on 25 May 1659, the New Haven Court turned to William Newman to settle a dispute that was current in the colony concerning "wrong done in the sizes of shooes." William Newman of Stamford was said to have been in the possession of an instrument that he had brought from England, that was capable of determining the correct sizes of shoes, and that instrument was ordered to be bought to New Haven to serve as model for a standard to be made to serve the needs of the entire Colony. There is no further information on this subject, and we may assume that William either complied, or the illness and death of his father intervened in the completion of this project.
His will was dated at Stamford on 18 August (6th month) and probated on 18 November (9th month) 1676. He mentioned his wife Elizabeth, and children Thomas, Daniel, "John" (who died before the probate), Sarah, Elizabeth and Hannah. His inventory was taken and filed on the date of probate. Also on the same date of probate, an agreement was made between and among the (remaining) heirs.
|NEWMAN, William (I41244)
||"Connecticut Ancestry": William Rogers was born at Stratford-On-Avon, Warwickshire,England about 1612, and was baptized there on 7 February 1612/13, the son of one Thomas Rogers, whose identity has not been resolved by earlier researchers. He died at Huntington, Suffolk County, Long Island, New York "probably rather suddenly" on 13 July 1664. |
it is important to note that William's father was not the Thomas Rogers who was among the passengers of the MAYFLOWER. One author describes the situation as follows:
"Thomas Rogers of Stratford-on-Avon, father of William Rogers was not Thomas Rogers of the 'Mayflower'. The Rogers family was numerous and prominent in Stratford-on-Avon. Thomas rogers, Bailiff and alderman, who was buried February 20 1610/11, was of this family. This Thomas had at least 16 children, one becoming mother of the John Harvard of New England. The handsome Rogers House in Stratford-on-Avon which the alderman Thomas Rogers built in 1596 is believed to still be standing."
Some authors have called him a member of the followers of the Rev. Richard Denton who settled in succession Wethersfield and Stamford, Connecticut, and Hempstead,on Long Island, but this appears to be an overstatement. William Rogers did in fact own property in Wethersfield by 1645, but he is not listed among the first settlers of that town who came from Watertown in 1635 and 1636. Although it is reasonable to presume that he spent some earlier time in Massachusetts, he is not mentioned in Savage's "Genealogical Dictionary" at all, and apparently did not leave any records elsewhere in new England prior to the land ownership in Wethersfield. Seversmith said he appeared "supposedly" in Boston in 1638, but gave no source for the statement. Seversmith also call him a "cousin" of Thomas Wickes/Wilkes of Wethersfield and Huntington.
He married Anna or Anne hall at Stratford-On-Avon on 2 February 1630/31. She survived her husband and died 22 November 1669 and 21 February 1669/70, the dates of he will and its probate. The suggestion by Miner and Jacobus that she was possibly Anne Sherman, daughter of Edmund Sherman of Dedham, England and Wethersfield, is NOT mentioned at all by Seversmith, and appears to have been superseded by Seversmith's more detailed discoveries. In particular, Seversmith noticed in the parish registers that Anne was probably identical with that Anne Hall, illegitimate daughter of Grace Hll, who was baptized at Sratford-on-Avon on 16 February 1612/13, less than one week after the baptism there of William Rogers. Anne's mother appears to have been Grace, daughter of robert "hawle", who was baptized at Stratford-on-Avon on 18 june 1583.
William Rogers was in Southampton, Long Island at an early time, but the exact sequence of his residences is not clear. The Southampton historian Mr. Howell gave the following account:
"William Rogers is mentioned as a resident of Southampton from 1642, so, at least, March 1645-6. In 1645 the Gen. Court of Connecticut mad him a grant of land. In 1649 he is made freeman. he appears to have had a home in Hempstead, for a few years previous to 1649. From 1649 to 1655 we find him an inhabitant of Southampton, and after this he disappears altogether...Subsequent to 1655, Obadiah Rogers is mentioned as residing on the homestead that William had occupied...Now it is probable that William gave the Southampton homestead to his son Obadiah about 1655, and with his wife and younger children removed to Huntington where he might have resided several years."
We do know that on 30 July 1656, Jonas Wood, William Rogers and Thomas Wilkes purchased the major portion of what would become the Huntington lands from Asharoken Montinnicok, Sachem, and the other native Americans "for and in consideration of 2 coates, fore shertes, seven quarts of licker and aleven ounces of powther." This agrees very well with Mr. Howell's estimate of the time William Rogers moved to Huntington.
William Rogers did not leave a will (at least not one that has survived), but the will of Anne Rogers of Huntington mentioned her son Obadiah and his eldest son (not identified by name), her sons John, Noah and Samuel, and her daughters mary and hannah. Miner and Jacobus found that "Although Jonathan was not named in the will, he was called brother by Noah in a conveyance and was certainly son of William, though possibly by a former wife." Seversmith presumed that Jonathan was left out because of a family disagreement, but a more plausible argument might be that Jonathan had already received his portion. At any rate, if Anne was indeed the person who married William Rogers in England in 1630, the Jonathan (baptized in 1636 and still living in 1669) must have been her son. samuel is felt by most writers to have been not her own child but the husband of her daughter Mary, probably Samuel Titus.
Hebert F. Seversmith, "Colonial Families of Long Island, New York and Connecticut", manuscript notebook #6 of 11, microfilm copy used at the connecticut State Library, 780. Seversmith's treatment is by far the most complete one available, and is used extensively herein. Although the citations are at a minimum, he was a careful researcher and his work is highly regarded.
|ROGERS, William (I47166)
||"Connecticut Ancestry": William Tuttle and his young family signed on to the list of passengers on the "Planter", Mr. Nicholas Travice (Travis), master, bound from London to the New England in the spring of 1635, leaving Gravesend on 2 April, 1635, bound for Boston.|
"William Tuttell, husbandman 26 (abt. 1609)
Elizabeth Tuttell 23 (abt. 1612)
John Tuttell 3 1/2 (abt. 1632)
Ann Tuttell 2 1/4 (abt. 1633)
Thonas Tuttell 3 months (b. 1635)
The overall list of names of passengers on the "Planter" is extremely important in that it contains the names of the other related Tuttle families as well as such other well-known early connecticut settlers as William Wilcockson and William Beardsley, and (Mrs.) Eglin Hanford and her daughters Margaret and Elizabeth Hanford, mother and sisters of the Rev. Thomas Hanford later to become the first pastor of the settlement at Norwalk, Connecticut. This was indeed a handsome passenger list and the potential connections between and among these people is typical of Great Migration settlers who migrated together to New England and were associated in various ways thereafter.
William Tuttle settled in Charlestown, Massachusetts, while his brother Richard went to Boston proper and John went on to Ipswich. During his first year at Charlestown, William Tuttle was given permission to build a windmill there, and his wife joined the Boston Church shortly afterward on 24 July 1636, as did many other Charlestown families.
His incentive for joining with the Davenport - Eaton group in the founding of New Haven is not known. For whatever reason, however, he moved with his family to New Haven sometime between his son David's baptism at Boston on 7 April 1639, and 4 June 1639 when his name appeared as a signer of the Fundamental Agreement of the first planters of New Haven.
"Will Touttle" was listed in a place of importance (5th on the list even though his estate was not among the highest in value) on New Haven's comprehensive grand list of planters and heir properties and tax rates in late 1640. This list tells us that there were 7 persons in William Tuttle's household at that time. Bob Anderson used this fact, couples with the fact that an additional child was baptized on 22 November 1640, to determine one boundary of the time of making this otherwise undated list.
With other colonial interests beginning to contend for rights in the Long Island Sound region, the New Haven Colony demanded an Oath of Fidelity be taken by its residents in the summer of 1644 (and afterward until the Colony was absorbed by Connecticut in 1662). William Tuttle was among 28 planters taking that oath on 5 August 1644.
There are several good printed summaries of William Tuttle's numerous records in New Haven, and they will not need to be repeated here. Of these, the most comprehensive are the Tuttle Genealogy itself, Paul Prindle's Gillespie Ancestry (178-90), Branch of Simon (85-105), and Moore Genealogy (532-47). From these records most researchers have concluded that William Tuttle was held in high regard for his judgment and fairness; that he was regularly assigned prominent seating positions in the church sanctuary, also indicating high regard in the community (and solid support for the church); and that he often held positions of responsibility having to do wit boundaries and personal disputes, but did not seek or fulfill any major elected offices.
He owned a considerable amount of property throughout the greater New Haven area, described in detail in many of the same references just cited. After his death and that of his widow, his homestead property at the corner of College and Chapel Streets in New Haven was sold out of the family by its administrators and in 1717 became the site of the newly organized Yale College, later yale University. "The Tuttle homestead was the only land owned by the college for nearly 30 years. It was the first of a long series of purchases (by the college) extending through a period of more than a century, which finally bought the whole of the College Square into its possession. In these transfers, descendants of Wm. Tuttle, who at one time or another owned a considerable part of the square, appear as grantors, either directly to the college or to intermediate holders."
I have not been able to find a concrete reason why three of the Tuttle children married into families from Stamford Although Stamford was originally part of the New Haven Colony, it was quite well separated by distance, and the towns of Norwalk, Fairfield and Stratford, all part of the Connecticut Colony, lay between Stamford and the nearest New Haven Colony Settlement at Milford. Jonathan married Rebecca Bell who had been born in Stamford, Sarah married John Slason who had been born in Stamford, and many of their brother John's children moved to Norwalk and Stamford as well, so his wife Catherine Lane may have been a Stamford girl. Since William Tuttle's brothers both settled in other parts of New England, it may have been Elizabeth (?) Tuttle William's wife, who was one who had the Stamford associations. Until her identity can be determined, this curious connection with Stamford families will have to remain a mystery.
William and Elizabeth Tuttle had to deal with more than their share of problems in their children's lives. This heavy dose of family difficulty was glossed over and generally not even mentioned by the 1883 Tuttle Genealogy, probably out of a desire to spare many descendants fro embarrassment. Later writers, however, notably Prindle and DeForest, have felt it more appropriate to document these serious problems along with their genealogies, providing readers with a more complete understanding of what we would now call the "family history."
Prindle introduced the subject by discussing a Connecticut State Law that provides for sterilization of individuals who might "produce children with an inherited tendency to crime, insanity, feeble-mindedness, idiocy, or imbecility...", the implication being that William Tuttle's family was somewhat formally considered to be an example of the inheritance of undesirable character traits. Prindle then added (without personal commentary) the observation that William Tuttle also shared blood lines with many highly regarded persons, including the Rev. Timothy Edwards and Sir Winston Churchill, and pointed out that the Tuttle Genealogy had estimated that "at least four hundred, or one in twenty-five (graduates of yale University) are known to be of this lineage or affinity, and so of its professional schools (including two Yale Presidents)."
Writing a generation earlier than Prindle, Donald L. Jacobus had mentioned William Tuttle's family as an example in a chapter titled, "Genealogy and Eugenics." Jacobus presented evidence that so-called "defective" persons could produce offspring that were perfectly responsible and desirable citizens, and that well-meaning attempts at selective breeding among humans(eugenics) could therefore potentially do as much damage as good. He cautioned that, "There may be the risk that in eliminating an undesirable trait, a desirable trait linked with it may also "bred out'", and also offered the comforting thought that "I have concluded fro my own studies that in the long run nature eliminates the most degenerate human strains."
Our immediate interest is in the daughter Sarah, born in 1642 at new Haven. In 1660 (when she was 18 and still unmarried) she was called into New Haven court for "imodest, uncivell, wanton, lascivious manner" in her speech and behavior. Actually, all she was accused of was kissing another man in public (which she denied) and having some fresh words for a newly married couple about what they would do that night (which she did not deny). But she was found guilty and fined 20 shillings, the sentence later reduced by half at the request of her father.
Except for this questionable instance in New Haven, we have no evidence that Sarah Tuttle could have been considered unsociable or otherwise degenerate in any way. She married John Slason of Stamford in November 1663, moved back to Stamford with him and began her own family with four children being born to them by 1672. On 17 November 1676, Sarah's younger brother Benjamin Tuttle, age about 28 years, unmarried and living in the Slason household, went berserk about an hour and a half after dark and brutally murdered his sister with an ax in front of her own hearth and in full view of the Slason children. Benjamin confessed to the crime, was found guilty, and was executed by hanging at New Haven on 13 June 1677. the jury who made the original inquest at Stamford the night of the crime consisted of twelve respected male citizens of Stamford, including (at least) two other ancestors of William Weed: Henry Smith and Daniel Scofield. Writing to his friend the Rev. Increase Mather in April 1677, Stamford's pastor the Rev. John bishop reported, "An horrid murther committed among us, here at Stamford. A brother killing his own dear sister, "a very good woman that loved him dearly",...It was one Benjamin Tuttle...."
|TUTTLE, William (I57905)
||"Connecticut Ancestry": Young John Holmes died 6 July 1703 when he was helping to raise a new bell for the Stamford meetinghouse into place. When the bell was almost into its final position, the rope that was holding it gave way and the bell crashed to the floor, killing him instantly. His only child Jonathan Holmes, born on 21 May 1703 only 6 weeks before his father's death, was renamed John in his honor. ||HOLMES, John (I29419)
||"Crapo, Verna B. Verna B. Crapo Verna B. Crapo, 98, passed away April 16 at Copley Health Center. Funeral services will be held Saturday, 1 p.m. at the McGowan-Reid & Santos Funeral Home (at 3rd St., one block north of Portage Trail in the Falls). Interment at Crown Hill Cemetery. AN ANTHONY FUNERAL HOME"|
|BORLAND, Verna (I79619)
||"Deanna", Padelford Family History "Descendants of Jonathan Paddleford". ||Source (S02891)
||"DeMaranville Genealaogy": Legend says Louis DeMaranville was born in Paris, France, and was a young officer in the army, age 19. One morning while walking in the garden he saw his new step-mother punishing his little sister and becoming enranged pulled out his sward and knocked her bonnet off. To escape a worse punishment he was put on bord a war ship of which Francis Crapo was Captain. This vessel was wrecked off th shor of Cape Cod, and four men and the boy Peter Crapo were saved in a boaat said to have landed at Plymouth, Mass. The boy Peter Crapo about 12 years of age was bound out by his brother the Captain to Francis Coombs of Middleboro, Mass. No date is given of their coming but it was probably before 1700--A rhyme of the men's names I have heard repeated by descendants of the five families, was|
Louis Demaranville and Louis Voteau.
Old Peter Juckett and Francis Crapeau.
Peter Crapo buys land in Rochester, Mass. as early as 1703 and was married in 1704. At the time of this marriage Louis DeMaranville is said to make a vow that he would not marry until he could marry a daughter of Peter Crapo, which in 1730 he did, and is said to have had thirteen children, of several of which I find no mention. It is said that while waiting for his future wife to grow up that he cleared up an exceedingly nice farm for those days and built thereon a wall so wide that a yoke of oxen could be driven on top thereof, a portion of this wall is shown today on the old homestead near Braley's Station, in Dartmouth, Mass. It is said also that Louis named his first child Chaumont after the Duke of Chaumont. An old pewter porringer said to belong to Louis is yet shown and is in the hands of a descendant Mrs. Abbie J. Brooks of New Bedford, Mass.
A deed dated 1773 refers to Lois as lately deceased and while we do not know how old he was at his death, yet if our legend is true he must have been more than 100 years old, and it has been claimed 110. The family has been noted for its longevity, also for its musical and inventive abiltity.
It is not known how much truth there is in this legend, but this we do know that the men mentioned in the rhyme and the boy Peter Crapo were all in the town of Rochester and married before 1735 and therefore could not have been of the Arcadians (who were not driven out until after 1740) as has been alleged.
The spelling of the name has differed among many branches and often in the same family I find it DeMaranville, DeMoranville, Demeanvlle, Maranville, Moranvlle, and Ranville, and should be pronounced MeMaranville with each a, as in ran. I have made no attempt to show which each one uses, as I only use first and middle names in the following pages.....
|DEMARANVILLE, Louis (I18254)
||"DeMaranville Genealogy" by George Leander Randall. ||Source (S03885)
||"DeMaranville Genealogy": He probably removed to Grafton, New Hampshire, where census of 1790 gives him a family of 4 children - I donot trace them. John was perhaps in Revolutionary War, as either he or a nephew, or both, have several war services. ||DEMARANVILLE, John (I18239)
||"DeMaranville Genealogy": Louis, Jr. d. Cazenovia, New York, age about 110; mar. Dartmouth, 23 Sept., 1759, wid. Deborah Russell. He was a Rev. Soldier and was in several services. Descendants say lost both arms in battle and hooks so arranged that he could hook into his hoe handle and hoe his garden, and do many other things..... ||DEMARANVILLE, Louis Jr. (I18257)
||"DeMaranville Genealogy": On gravestone his name is spelled deMaranville. He was in the Rev. War and rendered important aid as a bearer of dispatches. Was at Saratoga, New York, when Burgoyne surrendered and guard over prisoners sent to Boston, Massachusetts. He and wife and 10 children buried Poultney, Vermont.. ||DEMARANVILLE, Stephen (I18283)
||"Deming Genealogy": Ebenezer Deming was a hatter by trade, but was also a land-holder both in Wethersfield and Saybrook. His property in the latte town, he deeded to his son Oliver, and at his death he willed his homestead in Wethersfield to his son Moses, "because he has dwelt with me in the same house many years." To his son Joseph he gave land in Newington, and all his children were specifically named in his will, which was dated 15 Mar 1765, and proved 27 May 1765. ||DEMING, Ebenezer (I70168)
||"Deming Genealogy": Rev. David Deming was educated at harvard College, from which institution he graduated in 1700. Soon after his marriage he bought land in Middletown, Conn., and there his son David was born. It does not appear that he took charge of the church in Middletown, although it is said that he preached there. It is probable that he moved back to the vicinity of Boston, after a few years, and may have been the pastor of the church at Needham, for at a meeting of the inhabitants of that town 29 Oct. 1712, it was voted "yt ye Town should give Robert Fuller 12 pence a week for his House Rent a year and Roome in his Barn for to lay hay for to keep the rev. Mr. Deming's Cattell, and that Robart Fuller should provide a convenient studdy for Mr. Deming in casse that Robart Fuller should want his littell roome in ye spring of ye year." He was ordained minister of the church of Medway, Mass., 17 Nov 1715, but resigned his charge 24 Sep 1722. It was here that his son Jonathan was born, of whom nothing further has been found except that in 1725 he is mentioned in his grandfather's will. After leaving Medway Mr. Deming settled in Lyme, Conn. He is said to have been a tall handsome man, and his wife, who was a few years his senior, was quite small but very much of a lady. ||DEMING, Rev. David (I18309)
||"Deming Genealogy": Aaron Deming moved from Wethersfield, Conn. to Williamstown, Mass., in may 1769, and there, with his father and brother Titus bought 200 acres of land at $1.88 an acre. While they were clearing this land they all lived together in a temporary log house, but soon were able to build a larger house, where the father Joseph lived and died, and which was afterwards occupied by Aaron, who inherited by his father's will, the northern part of the farm. It appears that Aaron was unmarried when he came to Williamstown, and returned to Newington for his wife. He served in the revolution as a private in Capt. Samuel Clark's co. Col Benj. Simond's reg., enlisted 14 Aug 1777, discharged 21 Aug 1777, having in the meantime take part in the battle 16 Aug. at Wallumsick near Bennington, Vt. Late in the war he was one of a party to convoy provisions to the army. In his old age his sons Salmon and Joseph managed his farm for him. ||DEMING, Aaron (I70220)
||"Deming Genealogy": Aaron Deming was reared on his father's farm in Williamstown, Mass., and received a good, common school education. Before he reached his majority, he purchased for one hundred dollars a release from his obligations as a minor, and emigrated to the wilderness of Niagara Co., NY, near the present city of Lockport, where in partnership with Arthur Poole he bought and cleared a quarter section of land. In 1825 he met in West Groton, Cayuga Co., his future wife, who had come to the vicinity to teach school. They were married the same year, and in 1830 sold their home and moved to Barrington, Yates Co., NY, where Mr. Deming bought 250 acres, and continued his life of a farmer for many years, until failing health, and misfortunes compelled him to sell his property, and retire from active life.|
He was a man of many virtues, and conversant with the affairs of his day, being a constant reader, and interested in all that related to politics. He held frequent positions of trust with which his fellow townsmen honored him, and was a consistent member of the Methodist Episcopal Church.
|DEMING, Aaron (I70237)
||"Deming Genealogy": According to Savage, John Deming Jr., was born in 1638, but the authority for this statement is not given. Hinman says that he was born in 1632, and if this earlier date is correct, he must have been born before his father moved to Wethersfield. To distinguish him from his father upon the early records of the town, he is called "Sergeant John Deming," this title indicating that he may have taken part in the Indian wars of the period. In 1662 he became one of the selectmen of the town, and was Representative from Wethersfield to the General Court from 1669 to 1672. In 1694, he and his wife appear among the members of the church at Wethersfield. His son John probably remained with his father on the home farm, while the other sons scattered, and their records are only partly found. Joseph probably moved to Woodstock, Hezekiah went to Farmington, and Jacob to hartford, while Jonathan lived in the vicinity of Wethersfield. Of Samuel no trace can be found, and it is supposed that he either died young, or moved to a distance. The fate of his daughters, Mary and Sarah has not been discovered. Fe 16, 1712, shortly after his death, his sons John, Joseph, Jonathan, and Hezekiah deed to each other, lands and other property possessed by each of them at the death of "our natural father Mr. John Deming." This indicates that Jacob and Samuel were not living at that time.|
According to one authority Sergt. John Deming was a "packer" in 1692. As he inherited his father's tools a few years later, it is possible that this was also his father's trade. His brother David, to whom his father first bequeathed his tools, (and later withdrew the gift) is described as a "knacker," which is defined as a maker of small work, or a rope-maker. Perhaps both John and David followed the trade of their father, and the copyist has mistaken the word "knacker" for "packer."
|DEMING, John (I70176)
||"Deming Genealogy": David Deming left Williamstown, Mass., in 1810, and traveled on foot across New York State, and finally settled in West Henrietta, NY., from whence he moved to Lockport, NY, about 1835. He and his wife Sally were members of the church in Henrietta, and it appears that not only David but also his father Titus was in Henrietta as early as 1816. ||DEMING, David (I70224)
||"Deming Genealogy": David Deming remained in Wethersfield, probably as late as 1690, in which year he received a tract of land there, from his father. In 1699 he appears in Cambridge, Mass., where he is called a "fence viewer," and in 1700 he was "tythingman". He owned the Brattle estate extending from Brattle Square to Ash Street. Before November, 1707, he removed to Boston; at which date he sold the westerly portion of this estate to Andrew Belcher and easterly portion, including the house, to Rev. Wm. Brattle. In the conveyance he is called "Knacker," which has been defined as "a maker of small work; a rope-maker."|
In his will dated 23 Apr. 1725, "being sick and weak," he discharges his son David of a debt of one hundred pounds more or less which he had bestowed upon him "at sundry times for his education at Collidge and since." To the three children of David, namely; David, Mercy, and Jonathan, he leaves a bequest in money. To his daughter Martha, wife of Henry Howell he leaves "one hundred pounds and household stuff and moveables." To his grandson Joseph Deming, son of Hannah Deming widow, he leaves "all that my dwelling house which I now dwell in, fronting to Newbury Street, with all the yard garden and premises thereunto belonging." In case of Joseph's death before he comes to the age of 21, then his brother John Deming is to have the property. to his son-in-law Henry Howell (blacksmith) he left the remainder of his estate. The inventory names "15 Seal-skins; 17 sheep-skins; and leather and tools." It also includes "Benjamin Deming's time valued at 24 pounds, and the Indian boy valued at 70 pounds."
|DEMING, David (I18310)
||"Deming Genealogy": Deacon John Deming was one of the founders of the Newington Church Society, and was for many years one of its active supporters. In the records of the parish he frequently appears in positions of trust, and one of its first deacons. ||DEMING, John (I70169)
||"Deming Genealogy": Francis Deming did not follow his father and brothers in their emigration to Massachusetts, but spent his life on his farm in Newington. In the church of that parish, he was an active member, and frequently held positions of trust. He appears to have seen service in the French War, in 1758, from May 4th to Nov 8th. ||DEMING, Francis (I70207)
||"Deming Genealogy": Jacob Deming settled in Hartford, where the birth of his first child is recorded upon the town records. At the may session of the General Court at Hartford in 1698, he was granted a sum of money as compensation for personal damage, as appears from the following record: "Jacob Demmon having been wounded in the countrey service in firing the great gunes in Hartford (by order from the Govern'r and council when peace was proclaimed) whereby he susteined great losse and dammage, this court orders that he shall receive out of the countrey treasurye the sume of ten pounds cash, to be paid to him by the treasurer." At the October session of the same year "the court gives to Jacob Demmon five pounds more than was formerly given him in consideration of his wounding and dammage in firing the great gune which brake in firing." He evidently recovered from his injuries, for he had two sons born afterwards, but he disappears entirely from the Hartford records after the year 1703, and it is probable that he moved away or died about that time. His wife Elizabeth was living in 1718, and was probably a widow at that time, for the will of her father, Richard Edwards, dated 14 Apr 1718 bequeaths ten pounds to each of his daughters, with the special provision that Elizabeth is to receive her portion at once, as she may need it for her maintenance. According to some authorities, she married second a Mr. Hinckly, of Kingston, RI. It has been very difficult to trace the fate of the children of Jacob Deming. His eldest son Jacob, does not appear upon any records thus far examined, with the exception of the entry of his birth upon the town records of Hartford. His son Lemuel was a hatter, and married Susanna, daughter of Jonathan and Sarah Bunce, who was born in 1704. Lemuel died 10 Dec 1724, leaving a "wife and child," as appears from his nuncupative will, in which he also refers to his mother and his friend, Timothy Phelps, to each of whom he left a small sum of money. In the inventory of his estate are "200 rackoons skinnes, 31 gallons rum, 51 pounds wool, 2 doz and 3 blocks a stone bason, tools, etc." A Timothy Deming of Hartford deeds land upon the east side of the river between the years 1740 and 1762, and it is supposed that he was the son of Jacob of hartford. While proof of this is lacking, there is evidence to support the theory, and the line is so continued. Contemporary with this family, there was living in the eastern part of East hartford a branch of the Damon family, whose names appear upon the records of East hartford and adjoining towns as Demmon, and sometimes as Deming. to add to the confusion, one of these men was named Timothy Damon (or Deming, as it often appears.) His brother, David Damon, appears upon the East hartford records as David Deming, who died 1 Apr 1825, aged 81 yrs. The same record shows the following marriages: Ruth Deming to Ebenezer Hills in 1775, Phebe Deming to Russell Hills in 1783, and Prudence Deming to Samuel (or Solomon) Brewer in 1797. These persons may have been descendants of Jacob Deming, of Hartford, and it is equally possible that they were descendants of the Damon family. ||DEMING, Jacob (I18319)
||"Deming Genealogy": Jacob Deming was a large land-owner in Wethersfield, as appears by the frequent transfers, in his name, upon the land records. His first two children were born in Wethersfield, and the others in Farmington. Jan. 17, 1716/17, he was given the "second set in the square body" of Farmington Church. From 1741 to 1747 he is referred to as living near the Farmington line, and is called a resident of Kensington. In December 1730, he is a member of the "Prudential Committee" of KensingtonChurch. The land records show that he had property in Rocky Hill and Newington. According to Hinman he lived in Berlin and New Britain, and it is certain that his first wife is buried in the latter town. His second wife left a considerable estate, including negro slaves, which went by bequest to her children by her first husband, Timothy Jerome. She was a member of the church in Bristol, and was buried there in "Old South Burying Ground." ||DEMING, Jacob Sr. (I18320)
||"Deming Genealogy": John Deming, the immigrant ancestor of most of the persons bearing his family name, was one of the early settlers of Wethersfield, Connecticut, where he recorded his homestead in 1641, as a house, a barn, and five acres of land, bounded by High Street, west, the Great Meadow, east, Thomas Standish's homestead, north, and Richard Crabbe's homestead, south. The dates of his birth, marriage and death, have never been discovered. His wife was HONOR TREAT, daughter of Richard Treat, whose second wife Alice Gaylord, was her mother. It has not been proven that Honor was his first and only wife, nor that she was the mother of all of his children, although it is probable. In his will of 13 Feb 1668, Richard Treat makes the following bequest: "Item: My debts being paid, I give to my loving sons John Demon, and Robert Webster, equally, all the rest of my goods and chattels whatsoever, except Mr. Perkins book, which I give to my son John Demon, and my great bible to my daughter Honor Demon. And that money in my cousin Samuel Wells, his hand, unto my cousin David Deming, son of John Demon senior." This obscure clause seems to indicate that there was a John Demon senior, as well as John Demon the son-in-law, and suggests the possibility that the father of John Deming of Wethersfield was also names John. This is stated as a fact by Hinman, without giving authority, and the theory is further supported by the statements of the compiler of the Wells Genealogy, and other genealogists. Treat refers to David Deming as his cousin, and indicates the same relationship with Samuel Wells, who is presumably the son of Gov. Thomas Welles, who married Elizabeth Deming, said to have been a sister of John Deming. It would thus appear that the Treats, Welles, and Demings were connected in some way, perhaps before their removal to America. This is the only clue to the parentage of John Deming, and may ultimately lead to its final discovery.|
It has been stated by some genealogists that John Deming was among the very first settlers of Wethersfield in 1635, and such is probably the case, but the proof is lacking. His first appearance upon the public records of the colony, after recording his homestead, was in 1642, March 2nd, when he was one of the jury of the "particular court." In 1645, Dec. 1st, he appears among the deputies as Jo. Demon, and in 1656 as John Dement, when as a deputy, he is appointed one of a committee, "to give the best safe advice they can to the Indians." In 1657, May 21st, he appears as a deputy to the General Court, as John Deming, and the following year as John Dement. He was a deputy at various courts until 1667, under various names, the name Deming prevailing at the last. He was also a litigant in several lawsuits. He is one of those named in the famous charter of Connecticut, in which King Charles granted to them and to those who should afterwards become associated with them, the lands of connecticut, "in free and common socage," and established a colonial government with unusual privileges.
Across the river from Wethersfield, and within its boundaries, lay the "Naubuc Farms," afterwards incorporated into the town of Glastonbury. Here among the first to obtain a lot, was John Deming in the year 1640, his name appearing as John Demion. It is not at all likely that he ever lived here, for he had a house in Wethersfield the following year, and he sold the land on the east side of the river to Samuel Wyllis before 1668. he also owned land in Eastbury, for which he was taxed in 1673. In 1669 he is listed among the freemen of Wethersfield, as John Deming Senior, together with John Deming Junior, and Jonathan Deming. He bought considerable land in Wethersfield at various times, some of which he gave to his sons before he died. The actual date of his death has never been discovered. He signed a codicil to his will Feb. 3, 1692, and this is the last recorded act of his life. When the public lands were allotted to the inhabitants in 1695, he did not draw a portion. It is probable that he died soon after 1692, although his will was not pored until 21 Nov. 1705, and Savage, and other genealogists have assumed that he lived until that year.
No public record has been found of the births of the children of John Deming, but their names, as far as known, have been taken from his will, which is preserved in the Probate Court of Hartford........
This old will is the one glimpse we have of the character of John Deming. It reveals a spirit of piety, of love for his family and his friends, and the companionship of some of the best men in the colony. It shows that he was a man of substance, well supplied with lands, and cattle; that he was equipped to work at some trade, which o doubt proved of service in the little colony when they first settled so far fro the older towns on the coast. We would like to know what that trade was, but the records are silent on that point. under the first will, David was to have the tools of the shop, and David, we know, was a rope-maker; but under the codicil to the will, these tools went to john Deming Junior, and whether he continued in his father's trade or not, we are not informed. At the time this will was written, John Deming must have been over seventy years old, and we may picture him in his last days among his children, and grandchildren, reading from his old Geneva bible, or talking with his old friends and neighbors of the trials and hardships of the early days of the settlement. As his wife is not mentioned in his will, it is probable that she died first. The church records of Wethersfield show among the members in 1694 "Jon. Deming Jr's. widow." It is hard to tell to whom this refers, unless to the widow of John Deming the first settler, but it is more probable that some other person is meant. Eunice Standish and her sister Sarah mentioned in the will as cousins, were daughters of Thos. Standish, whose land adjoined Deming's. The connection of this family with Capt Miles Standish of the Plymouth colony, has not been discovered. It would be interesting to learn how close was the relationship between the Deming and Standish families.
That John Deming was a prominent man in the affairs of the Connecticut colony, cannot be doubted, and his apparent association by kinship and friendship with those whom we look upon as among the founders of new England, indicates that he was a man of more than ordinary intelligence, and possessed of some education. It is to be hoped that future investigation may bring to light more information than we now have regarding his life in America, and the history of his birth and ancestry in his mother country.
Trumbull speaks of John Deming as one of the fathers of Connecticut, and Hinman says of him, that in 1654 he held the office of constable of Wethersfield, an office which proved that he was in the full confidence of the Governor. His name frequently appears upon the records of the colony with the prefix "Mr.," a courtesy paid only to men of some prominence. The same authority states that he was a representative at fifty sessions of the General Court, while in Hollister's roll of deputies, he is credited with nineteen sessions. It is certain that he bore his full share in the upbuilding of the colony, serving his country as the opportunity presented itself, and setting an example of good citizenship, which has born fruit in the loyalty and patriotism of many of his descendants during many generations.
|DEMING, John (I70178)
||"Deming Genealogy": Jonathan Deming appears frequently upon the land records of Wethersfield, but aside from transfers of land, little is to be found which throws any light upon his life. The date of his death has not been found, nor any record of the distribution of his estate, but on Apr 3, 1726, his widow Martha joins with his son Isaac in a deed of land inherited from him. Nov 11, 1719 he divided by deed to his sons, some of his property, including his home-lot went to Isaac and Gideon. This would indicate that he died soon after and no later transfer appears to have been made by him. His wife was admitted to the Church in Wethersfield 28 Aug 1696, but the date of her death has not been discovered. the names of his children are from the Wethersfield records, with the exception of Grace, whose name is included in the list prepared by Talcott. There has been found no proof of the marriages of his daughters, but it is probable that his daughter Anna married 20 Mar 1712 nathaniel Wright of Wethersfield His daughter martha may have been that one who married 13 mar 1757, Joshua Stoddard and died 22 Sep 1771... ||DEMING, Jonathan (I18321)
||"Deming Genealogy": Joseph Deming was a farmer of Wethersfield until 1769, when he bought land in Berkshire Co., Mass., and soon afterwards removed to the new settlement at Williamstown, together with his sons, Aaron and Titus. It is probable that his wife survived him, as she is mentioned in his will of 9 apr 1782. the father and his sons were diligent and thrifty, and acquired land from time to time, which was retained by their descendants for three generations. The old house, built by the father soon after he came to Williamstown, was standing until 1876, when it was destroyed by fire. At a point where the farm adjoins Hancock brook there was a small mill privilege, which was utilized by the family for manufacturing purposes for many years. ||DEMING, Joseph (I70193)
||"Deming Genealogy": Josiah Deming was a man of weight and prominence in the affairs of the parish of Newington, and was their agent to intercede with the General Assembly in 1748 for compensation for the loss of their minister, Rev. Simon Backus. He was a member of the class of 1709 Yale College, was a student of theology, and preached, but was never ordained. In his will of 30 Jul 1761, he names all of his children except Zebulon, who may have been that Zebulon who settled in Canaan, and of whom no further record has been found beyond a few land transfers in Canaan as late as 1744. The parentage of his second wife has not been discovered. She survived her husband and had a dower interest in his estate as late as 1786. ||DEMING, Josiah (I70173)
||"Deming Genealogy": Lieut. Ephraim Deming settled in the western part of Wethersfield, and was early identified with the church at Newington, being frequently appointed on important committees. On 13 Oct 1726 he was appointed Lieutenant of the train-band of Newington, by the Conn. Gen. Assembly. he left a considerable estate, which was distributed among his children, all of whom are mentioned in his will. ||DEMING, Ephraim (I18313)
||"Deming Genealogy": Martin Deming was an unsuccessful man, and seems to have been discouraged by misfortune. The latter part of his life was spent in the home of his daughter Mrs. Jane Gardner, Northville, Mich., where he died, and was buried. His early life was spent in farming, but later he became a commercial traveller. ||DEMING, Martin (I70231)
||"Deming Genealogy": Moses Deming was a resident of Wethersfield all of his life. In the distribution of his estate appear the names of all of his children and the names of the husbands of his daughters. He left a negro slave, "Asher," who with his bed and chest was valued at ten dollars, and was to go to the widow and after her death to his only son Moses. ||DEMING, Moses (I70197)
||"Deming Genealogy": Moses Deming with his wife moved from Williamstown to Michigan, and for many years his relatives heard nothing from him. It was finally learned that he had joined the Mormons, and emigrated with them to Utah. It is said that he had a daughter by his first wife, who died young, and that his wife soon followed her. Whether or not his affiliation with the Mormons occurred before her death, is not known. After diligent inquiries in Salt Lake City, the following facts have been learned: Moses Deming did not come to Utah with the first colony of Mormons,but was a member of the band called the "Seventies," which left Nauvoo, Ill., in 1848. He acquired some prominence in the Mormon church of "Latter Day Saints", and possessed considerable property, owning at his death about twelve acres in the city limits. He had three wives, including the one he married in Massachusetts who may have did before he married his second wife. B his first wife he had one child, and by the second wife three children, all of whom are dead. By his third wife, who is still living in Salt Lake City, he had six children, three of whom are living; Granville and Frank in Coalville, Utah, and Miles in Salt Lake City. His second wife was Maria Kitter, but his third wife, who came from England, refuses to give her family name. ||DEMING, Moses (I70238)
||"Deming Genealogy": Oliver Deming inherited land in Saybrook from his father, but seems to have spend his days in Wethersfield. He left a small estate, of which a double share was to go to his son Lemuel, but the latter admits an indebtedness of 150 pounds to his father, and offers to pay out of his share the funeral expenses, etc., if there is not enough left for that purpose. His wife Lucy probably died in 1801, as her estate of about 100 pounds was administered in Wethersfield by her son-in-law Mood, of Granville, Mass., which place is also called her home at the time of her death. ||DEMING, Oliver (I70194)
||"Deming Genealogy": the birth-date of Ebenezer Deming has never been discovered. It is supposed that he was the youngest son of John Deming, and that he was born about 1659. In 1698 he received a deed of land in Wethersfield from his brother David Deming of Cambridge, and inherited from his father other land in the vicinity. In the record of his marriage the family name of his wife is obliterated, and it has not been discovered from any other source. In the distribution of his estate, his widow and all of his children including his two sons-in-law Talcott and Wright, are named. ||DEMING, Ebenezer (I70164)
||"Deming Genealogy": the birth-date of Jonathan Deming is determined by the record of his death, which states that he "died suddenly, aged about 61 as he supposed." There is some doubt as to the identity of his first wife, but it is supposed that she was the daughter of George Graves. She died in child-bed, at the birth of her daughter Comfort. At the time of his second marriage he was said to be 34 years old, and his wife 20. the date of her death is given in the probate of her will, although other authorities differ. In his will dated 27 Mar 1696, proved 9 Mar 1699-1700, he names his wife Elizabeth, and his sons Jonathan, Thomas, Charles, jacob and Benjamin, giving to the latter the property inherited from Josiah Gilbert, his wife's father. He also names his daughters Sarah Ryley, Comfort, Elusia, Elizabeth, mary, and Ann, and a son-in-law John Williams, who was perhaps the first husband of his daughter Elusia. ||DEMING, Jonathan (I70159)
||"Deming Genealogy": The identity of this man as son of Sergeant John Deming of Wethersfield, has not been fully established. His gravestone states that at his death in 1742, he was "about 78". This would make his birth-year in 1664, three years later than the recorded birth of Joseph of Wethersfield, a discrepancy which might easily occur. He was a grantor in Woodstock as early as 1697, and in 1728 "being advanced in years," he deeds his property to his son Joseph, :conditional upon the support of myself, and wife Mar." According to Hinman, he had a house-lot in Woodstock in 1688, and was a carpenter by occupation. There is every reason to believe that he was son of Sergeant John Deming, for the records of Wethersfield fail to show any other fate of Joseph, the son of Sergeant John, who was born 1 June 1661, and no other person of the name Joseph Deming, has been found to correspond to the record of this man. His wife's father came to America from Wales. Of the fate of his son Joseph nothing further has been found. He was living in Woodstock in 1728. A Joseph Deming married in Woodstock 13 Jan. 1774 Prudence Griffin, but the connection with this family is not discovered. ||DEMING, Joseph (I70162)
||"Deming Genealogy": Timothy Deming appears to have lived most of his life in Wethersfield, although he is frequently mentioned upon the land records as a resident of Glastonbury. He is probably that Timothy Deming who was in the French war in 1758 in Capt. Gaylord's company of the 1st regiment....His will, dated 11 Oct 1785 names his sons Eliakim, Abel, Eli and Daniel, his daughter mary, the wife of Nathan Baldwin, and his daughter Charity, wife of Abijah Tryon, who, having married against his will, is to receive her share only in the event that she survive her husband. This same Charity appears upon the church records as having "gone to the Baptists." In 1779 he deeded to his son Abel a part of his hone-lot, together with the house thereon which Abel had built. His son Eliakim does not appear on the records except as one of the heirs of his father's estate in 1789, and it is said that he moved to the West at an early date, and all further traces of him has been lost. His son David does not appear in his father's will, and probably died first. His fate has not been discovered. ||DEMING, Timothy (I70196)
||"Deming Genealogy": Titus Deming was only nine years old when his father took him to Massachusetts, but as soon as he was able to do so, he helped in clearing and working the farm which had become the new home of the family. In later years he took care of the southern half of the farm, and this passed into his possession at the death of his father. He was a private in Capt. Samuel Clark's Co. Col John Brown's Reg. from 30 June to 21 July 1777, being in the expedition which marched to Ft. Ann. About 1816 he moved to Henrietta, NY, where he lived until his death. ||DEMING, Titus (I70211)